Geoff Keighly: I don’t know Libel Law, I fucked Tub Girl.

9 11 2007

Back in August, when Jastrick and I went to Seattle, we sat in on a panel called ‘Podcasts and Blogs: The New Face of Game Journalism’. On the panel was Chris Grant from Joystiq, Godfree from Gamertag Radio, Ashley Jenkins from The Frag Dolls, and Michael Zenke from Slashdot Games. The panel was decent, but something I found interesting was when Kotaku was brought up. While it was mostly Godfree and Zenke, the panel didn’t seem to like Kotaku very much, and went after them on a few things—like that they print completely unsubstantiated rumor. Now, at the time I didn’t really understand why they shit on Kotaku as much as they did. Until I read Kotaku last night.

This pissed me off to no end. Why? Well, it’s quite simple. If you read the interview which Geoff Keighly—the “smarmy douche from Game Head”, and Jastrick would say—is citing, you will notice something strange. That is the fact that nowhere in the interview does Harold Ryan ever mention Epic. At all. In fact, the word epic isn’t used in the interview in any context whatsoever.

Now, you could argue that Keighly was just extending the idea behind Ryan’s terminology, but then you’d be an idiot. What actually happened here is that Keighly has apparently never read libel law—you know, that law that says you can’t put words in an interviewee’s mouth? He saw and took an opportunity to start some shit during his short stint on the blog. He probably finds it funny that he started a completely meaningless flame war on the article’s comments board for no reason other than to feel like he has power of the tiny masses. Where’s the journalistic integrity here? Oh that’s right, there isn’t any because he’s not actually a journalist. He’s just some douche on a blog.

Far be it for me to be a hypocrite here and just accuse him of something from an arm chair. I submit this from the comments board of the article:

BY EDFEAR AT 04:00 AM

Yeesh. Speaking as the guy who DID this interview, I’ve got to say that Geoff’s really spun something out of this. Which is a shame, because it totally detracts from the other stuff that they said – and, I’ve got to be honest, I don’t see it as very professional, especially when it’s as strained as it is here.

I couldn’t say it better myself. So why do I bring this up? Why does this make me so fucking mad? Well, because I’ve always been one to argue that print journalism is and will for a long time be much more respectable than online journalism or blogging. Maybe it’s ’cause that’s where I started (not that I’ve gotten much further yet). I argue with my friend Ryan all the time about whether or not the internet is the future of journalism, and frankly I fucking hope not. That’s not to say that libel or defamation never happens in print, but it is much more controlled than writing on the ‘net. For one, blogs usually don’t follow AP or CP style. Many of them are run by people who have no real writing background, let alone journalism degrees. There’s no respect of feeling of responsibility held by these sites, and it makes me very angry to think that, as an aspiring video game journalist, this is my future. I’ll one day be getting Geoff Keighly coffee while he goes on Game Head and proclaims that Kojima stated he’d “totally fuck Itigaki.”

Anyways, that’s just me. Jastrick will be by later to write something far more interesting and realistic than me asking for journalistic integrity on the internet.

kefka.gifPersepolian

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 01 2008
Good Credit

I’ve tried applying for a credit card with most suitable for me terms and conditions – low APR and no annual fees. But I had to face a denial! My credit score was not good enough to qualify for this credit card offer. Are you going to apply for credit card at the moment? Find out your score first and apply correspondingly at

discover credit card no interest

R56ma87de

5 01 2008
Good Credit

I am a college student and I’m looking for a credit card to start credit history. I am being offered quite q plenty of them but I do not really like the terms and conditions they carry. I want to make my own, independent decision and apply for credit cad I like online. Now I just think which is better to have – a student credit card to build credit history, a secured credit card or no credit card all of which I’ve seen at

discover cash back rates

R56ma87de

7 04 2008
tv bracket

I don’t think college student should have their own credit cards, unless their parents give them or they only make money for themselves.

Leave a Reply

