Review: Metroid Prime 3: Corruption

11 09 2007

mp3.jpg

Although the game has been out for a few weeks now, I feel that I still need to write this because the game truly deserves it. Metroid Prime 3 is AWESOME. There, I said it. The game kicks ass, and kicks ass very stylishly to boot.

Metroid Prime 3 corruption takes place immediatley after the second game in the sub-series. With the threats of two phazon meteors exintguished on Tallon IV and Aether, the galaxy is at peace, right? Wrong. The ever-too reluctant to die Dark Samus/Metroid Prime has allied herself with the space pirates, and have launched another 4 phazon meteors to the core of the Galactic Federation. After stopping the first one, Samus and 3 other bounty hunters become corrupted by Phazon radiation, thanks to the efforts of Dark Samus. 1 month later, Samus awakens to find that her three comrades have gone missing, the 3 other meteors still thrive, and she has the ablilty to to call upon the power of Phazon, but at the cost of her own life.

Everyone knows that the Wii is not a graphical powerhouse like the 360 or PS3, but Corruption is a very good looking game. It is a visible step up from Metroid Prime 2 for the Gamecube, and uses the Wii hardware very well, though I am still convinced that the Wii can push out much more than has been shown to us so far. The developers have also added many new visual effects to the series, like lightbloom, which gives it a very distinctive look. The hauntingly-awesome score from the previous two games return as well, with the opening theme music having the ability to send chills of utter joy down your spine.

Another first for the Metroid series that this game adds is Voice Acting, something that very few Nintendo series have actually had: StarFox , and Mario somewhat. However, Samus remains silent. Im a fairly large Nintendo fan myself, but I dont understand what some people have against adding voice acting to Nintendo’s other series (Zelda being the main example).

However, by far the biggest draw to Metroid Prime 3 is the control scheme. Nintendo promised that they were going to give us a FPS control scheme as good as if not better than the Mouse/Keyboard, and they delivered. This is how console FPS games should be played. Im going to have a hard time going back to games like Halo 3 after playing through Nintendo’s Space Epic. Had Bioshock been on the Wii, and given Metroid’s control scheme, we would have most definatley had the best game ever.

In short: You have a Wii, Buy Metroid Prime 3. You most certainly wont regret it.

buy.jpg

img_sprite1.gif–Kyle “Jastrick

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 09 2007
Gil

Agreed! What I am truly impressed about is the subtle details that Retro studios has input with this final installment. I remembered the original primes had the reflection of Samus in the visor from time to time but it’s more apparent in this one. What I especially like (and just recently noticed) is that as Samus becomes corrupted, her reflection changes accordingly. I’m at the point where she has a phason streak by her left eye. The game as a whole is incredible and it’s true that any owner of the Wii needs to get this game. Truly the best the Wii has to offer at this point in time.

13 09 2007
a714generation

I’ll say this: the control scheme is stellar. It handles very well and shows off what the Wii can do. I feel as if i’m really controlling the motions being presented, which makes it the first real success for the Wii as far as FPS’s go. Bravo.

On the flip side, I have to admit that I’m not really taken with the narrative in this story. I don’t feel gripped by the game and wanting to come back for more. Likewise, when I’m playing it I don’t have that crazy gamer tendency to say “till the next save point” until I’m so tired I can’t see. Instead, I’m finding myself saying, “Alright, that seems good enough,” and stopping frequently.

What’s wrong with me? Why am I not getting this game like I desperately want to? Is it because I never owned a gamecube and didn’t play the first two games in the franchise? I don’t know…

14 09 2007
Juan

I posted on the forum the CSS code to change the way dates are displayed on Freshy. I posted it there so anyone can use it if they want to.

HTH

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=15539&page&replies=5

14 09 2007
jastrick

I’m not sure why, but I feel very similar, and I have played and beaten both 1 & 2. I think after playing such story-heavy games like Bioshock, Metroid feels a little…….lacking. The story is still awesome, don’t get me wrong, but it seems to lack that urge to continue that other games have.

Leave a Reply

