“It’s like comparing a night of non-stop sex to a day where you masturbate alot…”

15 06 2007

halflife22.jpg

Look at that, Half-Life 2: Orange Box has a release date. How quaint.

While I try to keep the flaming to the minimum, I gotta say, I’m still pretty pissed at Valve. It’s one of the few times I hate being right. When they first announced that what was then Half-Life 2: Aftermath would be going episodic, I said it would never work. I called that they would miss their deadline completely. Then Valve released Episode One—and though it was about a month late, they stuck close enough to their promise to give me hope. They promised Episode two within six months, and for a moment, I believed. I held out. I defended. I was a trooper.

I was duped.

So here we are, a year and some time later, and October is the date they come up with. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure Episode 2 will be amazing. I can almost guarantee that as soon as I’m done with it, I’ll look at GTA IV and think, what would the Free Man do? Portal and Team Fortress will most likely be stellar titles as well. I don’t doubt the quality of the work. I just wish it was going to last me longer than a day. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, I would have rather waited the two-and-some years for Half-Life 2: Aftermath as a complete package. What’s the difference? The title of this post says it all.

P.S: I think I’m back on the writing hump, so expect an Odin Sphere review soon, and definitely some commentary (not review) on PoP: Classic

kefka.gif

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

